The Range News is Maleny's premium Weekly Newspaper delivered each Friday
to the People of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland from Glasshouse to
Kenilworth and west to Peachester.

Phone 07 5494 2454
Fax 07 54943268

Beerwah State High School
wins Athletics Carnival for
ninth successive year

by Cameron Outridge


Beerwah State High Schoo has won the Central Zone Athletics Carnival for the ninth successive year.   Beerwah first won this title in 1995 and has successively defended it every year since.   Beerwah, with a student population of 1000, managed to hold off the challenge from the much larger Mountain Creek State High School, in the end winning by a clear margin of over 750 points.

For the ninth year in a row the boys won the overall teams championship trophy and for the eighth year in a row the girls won the overall teams championship trophy.   Beerwah State High School Principal Mr Boyd Jorgensen paid tribute to the team spirit that is a part of the school culture, the never-say-die attitude of the athletes and the dedication of the coaching staff.   He said, “While it was our talented and determined athletes who won the trophy, our coaching staff led by Physical Education Head of Department Mr Brian Wilkinson deserve an enormous amount of credit for the many hours of work they put into training and coaching the team.”

Beerwah High wins carnival for ninth successive year Beerwah High runs an Athletics Excellence Program that helps to identify and develop athletic ability through Years 8 - 10.   This program is the equal of any in the state, but is not the prime reason for the unprecedented success; this comes primarily from the commitment of athletes, coaches and parents working together as a team. The school also had two age champions - Lauren Bale (16 girls) and Chris Atwell (13 boys).   Well done everyone, including the Year 8 Cheer Squad who barracked tirelessly all day for their team!

Mr Jorgensen proudly joins school captain Paul Rawlins, and athletes Chis Atwell, Jayna Higgins, Roxanne Hockey holding the three trophies won at Central Zone Athletics.

Our thanks once again to Cameron & Tanya Outridge
of the Range News Newspaper for this story.