The Range News is Maleny's premium Weekly Newspaper delivered each Friday
to the People of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland from Glasshouse to Kenilworth
and west to Peachester.

Phone 07 5494 2454
Fax 07 54943268

New Student Leaders at Glasshouse Mountains

New student leaders were inducted at Glasshouse Mountains State School this week, State Member for Glasshouse Carolyn Male MP said.  The 2003 school captains are Cerrissa Enright and Ben Wharton and the vice captains are Emma Blake and Liam Roberts.    Carolyn Male congratulated the students and said as school leaders, they will be focal points for the school.   Carolyn said she was sure the new leaders would display all the attributes of leaders, such as a tidy appearance, good manners and intelligence.  “I know the entire school will get behind Cerrissa, Ben, Emma and Liam because Glasshouse is a very supportive school and the parents and teachers are always there to help,” she said.

New School Captains were inducted at Glasshouse State School on 04.03.03

From Left:

Principal Ross Christie, Captain Cerrissa Enright, Vice Captain Emma Blake, Captain Ben Wharton, Vice Captain Liam Roberts and State Member for Glasshouse Carolyn Male M.P.

Investiture of Beerwah’s 2003 Senior Leaders

Recently Beerwah State High presented its new Senior Leaders and Student Council Representatives for 2003 to invited guests, parents and primary school student leaders from the Glasshouse Coalition.    This year was the first time that the Student Ambassadors and the Interact Club Executive were also presented to the Beerwah High School Community. School Captains Lisa Smith and Paul Rawlins proudly addressed the assembled guests and spoke of their commitment to the school during 2003 and hoped it would be a successful year for all.

Beerwah State High School Senior Leaders with Principal Boyd Jorgenson

In their final year of school, the 2003 Prefects’ pledge was recited with much pride.   They included Emma Addison, Chloe Caldwell, Jodie Findlay, Tahnee Howard, Kyra Sierakowski, Jonathon Angell, Christopher Austin, Shane Baker, Kim Chamberlin and Stirling Schunemann.   These students look forward to being more involved with the issues that affect the student body at the school and to uphold the high standards for the junior school to follow.   House Captains were also formally presented to the school community. Miketeebumulgrai: Kate Armstrong and Damian Dickson; Tibberoowuccum: Jayna Higgins and Bernhard Emmelmann; Tunbubudla: Chasley Turner and Justin Smith; Ngungun: Jayden Mackness and Jake Moss Next, the Student Council Executive was introduced.   Claire Jorgensen is the President with Samuel Templar voted in as Vice President.   The Secretary is Jasmin Williamson and Treasurer is Cathie Beams. Student Council

Representatives this year were selected from every year level.    They included: Year 12: Eliza King, Edward Kutra, Danielle Merrett, Jake Moss, Chasley Turner, Melanie Willing; Year 11: Stephen Forster, Dayle Pasztor, Kerri Welke, Kim Wisse; Year 10: Yasmin Beavis, Breeana Clendinning, Ben Southall, Elizabeth Willing; Year 9: Tanith Aslette, April Bott, Jennifer Lunt, Michelle Nolan; Year 8: Jared Arthur, Kasey Chanbers, Daniel Firth, Imogen Grant, Phoebe Howard, Victoria Hubbard, Dana Pearce.

This year more students were given the opportunity to demonstrate their leadership skills by becoming Student Ambassadors. They included: Cassie Armstrong, Tenielle Clendinning, Cassandra Costello, Kara Curtis, Joselyn Evans, Lucy Faerham, Anthony Forman, Hannah Frain, Alexander Grant, Mitchell Gray, Alexandra Griffiths, Jessica Harrison, Linsay Heit, Caroline Irle, Eliza King, Edward Kutra, Dana Lawrie, Joanne Loveday, Mikarla McClure,

Colleen Page, Tessa Penshorn, Marsha Rigden, Daniel Sandeman, Michael Savage, Joanna Shanahan, Jade Turner, Melanie Willing, Samuel Woodward. Also new to the Senior Leaders of the school this year is our Interact Club Executive. Working closely with Glasshouse Rotary Club, the Interact Club and the Student Council will be working together to support the many worthy charities/causes that have been supported by Beerwah State High School for many years.

The Executive consists of: President Kara Curtis; Vice President Rebecca Griffiths; Secretary Anthony Forman; Treasurer Lucy Fareham. After the presentations of badges to the 2003 Senior Leaders, students accompanied their parents and the special guests to a morning tea where they received a more personal congratulations from their proud parents. Beerwah State High Senior Leaders with headmaster Boyd Jorgenson.


Our thanks once again to Cameron & Tanya Outridge
of the Range News Newspaper for this story.