The Range News is Maleny's premium Weekly Newspaper delivered each Friday
to the People of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland from Glasshouse to
Kenilworth and west to Peachester.

Phone 07 5494 2454
Fax 07 54943268

Prime Ministers Centenary Medals winners
by Cameron Outridge

Many of the hinterland’s charity fundraisers and tireless community workers have been awarded Prime Minister’s Centenary Medals for their contributions to Australia.  The award recipients were nominated by federal and state governments and assessed by a committee chaired by historian Geoffrey Blainly.   Max Lindegger, who received the Centenary Medal for “distinguished achievement in the field of developing sustainable communities”, said that he was honoured to receive the Award. Max said, “It is very rewarding to see mainstream developers and governments appreciating ideas which have been pioneered at villages like Crystal Waters.”  Hinterland residents featured prominently on the list of 15,500 from across the country.   Premier Peter Beattie said that Queenslanders who had played a role in making a better state and nation rightly deserved to be recognised in such a way.  “From great old diggers to clerics, from ethnic group leaders to Olympians, from academics to business leaders and balladeers to winemakers ... it is a magnificent collection,” he said. “This is a great Aussie moment and it’s excellent that so many Queenslanders are among them.”  Local recipients included: Don Aldous, Caloundra; Thomas Bartlett, Beerwah (service to the community); Joan Benson, Maleny (arts); Patricia Collins, Landsborough (community); Ian Fleiter, Conondale (rural industry); Steve Irwin, Beerwah (global conservation and Aust tourism); Lloyd Larney, Maleny (community); Max Lindegger, Conondale (sustainable communities); Bruce Page, Peachester (Peachester & Beerwah communities); Robert Rose, Beerwah (Qld Ambulance Service); Doug Slack, Maleny (parliament); Hon Geoffrey Smith, Montville (parliament); Max Whitten, Maleny (science & biodiversity); Geoff Wilson, Mapleton (tertiary education).


Top Left  -  Lloyd Larney 
Top Right  -  Bruce Page:
Below Left  - Steve Irwin 
Below Right  -  Joan Benson


Our thanks once again to Cameron & Tanya Outridge
of the Range News Newspaper for this story.